September 17, 2021

The Only Football

Get The Latest NFL News And More!

2020 All-Pro Team Announced | Football Outsiders

3 min read
2020 All-Pro Team Announced | Football Outsiders

The 2020 AP All-Pro Team was announced today, and you can find the winners at the link below. Aaron Donald and Travis Kelce were unanimous choices.

As you may know, for the first time this year I was honored to be one of the 50 members of the voting panel. So in the interest of open discussion, here were my choices for this year’s All-Pro Team.

QB Aaron Rodgers, GB: A tough choice. I was planning to vote for Patrick Mahomes up until Week 17, but Rodgers went out, had the best day of any quarterback that week, and passed Mahomes in DVOA. Mahomes still ended the season higher in DYAR but so many other metrics out there have Rodgers higher (CPOE, public EPA models, QBR, etc.) that the final-week performance put me over the edge for Rodgers. SIS total points actually has Rodgers fourth (and Deshaun Watson first) but he led the league in their IQR metric.

RB Alvin Kamara, NO: Derrick Henry was the best runner in the league this year but I just couldn’t vote for a guy with -75 receiving DYAR when so much research has shown that a lot of the differentiation in running back value comes in the passing game. So I went Kamara, who had the highest combined DYAR.

WR Davante Adams, GB; Stefon Diggs, BUF; Justin Jefferson, MIN: Another really difficult one. I easily could have gone with DeAndre Hopkins, Tyreek Hill, and DK Metcalf instead.

TE Travis Kelce, KC: Easiest choice.

LT David Bakhtiari, GB: My offensive line picks were a combination of looking at SIS total points earned as well as ESPN’s pass block and run block win rates, and talking to offensive line experts such as Brandon Thorn.

LG Joel Bitonio, CLE

C Erik McCoy, NO

RG Brandon Scherff, WAS: This was the toughest offensive line position to choose because the best guards this year were either left guards or missed time due to injury.

RT Tristan Wirfs, TB

IDL Aaron Donald, LAR; Cameron Hayward, PIT: The top two interior linemen in SIS points saved, and it meets the eye test, with all due respect to DeForest Buckner.

ER T.J. Watt, PIT; Myles Garrett, CLE: Watt is a DPOY candidate, of course. Garrett led all edge rushers in “quality sacks” according to Brandon Thorn’s charting.

LB Fred Warner, SF; Lavonte David, TB; Roquan Smith, CHI: These were the linebackers who ranked fourth, third, and first in SIS points saved, respectively. Smith led the league in defeats, tied with Devin White. David was fourth. I left out White because he allowed 7.0 yards per target in coverage while these three linebackers each allowed 4.5 yards per target or less.

CB Jaire Alexander, GB; Xavien Howard, MIA: I only regret that there weren’t three cornerback slots to match the three wide receiver slots which would have allowed me to also vote for Jalen Ramsey. But between Ramsey, Alexander, and Howard, I could only choose two.

S Budda Baker, ARI; John Johnson, LAR: Johnson may be an outside the box choice but the Rams were at the top of the league in preventing deep passes as well as long runs this year. He was also high in SIS points saved. I was more comfortable with Baker than with Jamal Adams despite Adams’ strength as a pass-rusher because he had some coverage issues.

K Jason Myers, SEA: The special teams choices were based on FO metrics. Myers was slightly behind Graham Gano of the Giants in FG/XP value but was much higher on kickoffs.

P Jake Bailey, NE: The leader in both net and gross value.

KR Cordarelle Patterson, CHI: Devin Duvernay was worth more per kick return but Patterson had more total value and changes the way the opposing kicker approaches kickoffs.

PR Gunner Olszewski, NE: Twice as much punt return value as anyone else.

ST George Odum, IND: 20 special teams tackles when nobody else was over 16.

LS Rick Lovato, PHI: 6 tackles, no blown snaps, and I ran his name past a couple of long-snapper experts and they seemed to feel it was a good choice.

Again, click this link for a list of the full winners: