September 26, 2021

The Only Football

Get The Latest NFL News And More!

After Cuts, Cardinals Arrive At Initial Roster

2 min read
After Cuts, Cardinals Arrive At Initial Roster

The Cardinals have finalized their initial roster, keeping two fewer players than the 53-man maximum in preparation for waiver claim additions on Sunday afternoon.

Some of the notable cuts include tight end Ricky Seals-Jones, wide receiver Pharoh Cooper, cornerback Brandon Williams (waived/injured), wide receiver Chad Williams, rookie tight end Caleb Wilson and recently-acquired defensive lineman Bruce Hector.

Those on the bubble who made the team include inside linebacker Tanner Vallejo, outside linebacker Pete Robertson, undrafted defensive tackle Miles Brown, running back D.J. Foster, guard Jeremy Vujnovich and wide receiver Damiere Byrd.

Cornerback Robert Alford is on the roster, allowing him to come back this season if he is placed on injured reserve for his broken leg. The Cardinals kept 10 of their 12 draft picks, including seventh-round defensive end Michael Dogbe and seventh-round offensive tackle Josh Miles. Wilson, the final pick of the draft, was the only one released, as wide receiver Hakeem Butler (hand) is on injured reserve.

The Cardinals have the top waiver claim priority on players with under four years of NFL service and clearly plan to make moves. They have the two open spots, and a trip to injured reserve for Alford would open up a third.

Guard Max Garcia (knee) was placed on the reserve/physically unable to perform list, which will keep him sidelined a minimum of six weeks. Garcia does not take up a roster spot, nor does cornerback Patrick Peterson during his six-game suspension.

The Cardinals can fill out their 10-player practice squad on Sunday following the waiver claims.

Below is the full list of players released:

Quarterback: Drew Anderson, Charles Kanoff

Running back: Wes Hills (injury settlement), Dontae Strickland

Wide receiver: Pharoh Cooper, Chad Williams, A.J. Richardson, Isaac Zico

Offensive line: Rees Odhiambo (waived/injured), Colby Gossett, Coleman Shelton, William Sweet (waived/injured), Parker Ehinger, Patrick Lawrence, Jacob Ohnesorge

Tight End: Ricky Seals-Jones, Darrell Daniels, Caleb Wilson, Drew Belcher

Defensive line: Bruce Hector, Pasoni Tasini, Siupeli Anau, Sterling Bailey

Linebacker: Vontarrius Dora, Cameron Malveaux, Pita Taumoepenu (waived/injured), Dante Booker

Safety: Jonathan Owens, Tyler Sigler

Cornerback: Brandon Williams (waived/injured), Nate Brooks, Deatrick Nichols

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *