May 24, 2022

The Only Football

Get The Latest NFL News And More!

Bears interview Colts’ assistant GM Ed Dodds,…

2 min read
Bears interview Colts' assistant GM Ed Dodds,...

Before being hired by the Seahawks, Dodds spent four seasons with the Raiders. He was a student/coach from 2000-03 at Texas A&M Kingsville, where he earned a degree in business marketing.

Eberflus has 13 years of NFL experience, including the past four seasons as Colts defensive coordinator. Inheriting an Indianapolis defense that ranked 30th in the NFL in both scoring and total yards in 2017, Eberflus helped the unit improve to 10th in scoring and 11th in yards in his first year in 2018.

After finishing with a 4-12 record in 2017, the Colts rebounded to earn a wild-card berth with a 10-6 mark in 2018, beating the Texans in the first round of the playoffs before losing to the Chiefs in a divisional game.

Eberflus began his NFL career with the Browns as a linebackers coach (2009-10) before spending seven seasons with the Cowboys as linebackers coach (2011-17)—and adding passing game coordinator to his duties in 2016-17.

Before entering the NFL, Eberflus was a college coach for 17 years. He started his career at Toledo, his alma mater, as a student assistant (1992), graduate assistant (1993), outside linebackers coach (1994-98) and defensive backs coach (1999-2000), also serving as recruiting coordinator in 1994-95.

After leaving Toledo, Eberflus spent eight seasons as defensive coordinator at Missouri from 2001-08.

As a player, Eberflus was a four-year letterman and three-year starting linebacker at Toledo. He earned first-team All-MAC honors and led his team in tackles as both a junior and senior. Eberflus earned a degree in education in 1993 and was inducted into Toledo’s Athletic Hall of Fame in 2004.

Since beginning the search process last Wednesday, the Bears have interviewed seven candidates for the general manager position and six for the head-coaching job:

Glenn Cook (GM)
Doug Pederson (HC)

Kwesi Adofo-Mensah (GM)
Champ Kelly (GM)

Jeff Ireland (GM)
Brian Flores (HC)

Monti Ossenfort (GM)
Jim Caldwell (HC)
Nathaniel Hackett (HC)

Joe Schoen (GM)
Brian Daboll (HC)

Ed Dodds (GM)
Matt Eberflus (HC)