Broncos won’t add any players to Ring of Fame in 2023

In a somewhat surprising move, the Denver Broncos announced they won’t add a Ring of Fame member in 2023, per Mike Klis. There was no honoree in 2022, either.

Part of the reason is that the team is in the process of a $100 million stadium renovation that has been ongoing during the offseason.

The Broncos will honor Super Bowl 50 champion DeMarcus Ware in Week 2, perhaps somewhat in place of a traditional Ring of Fame ceremony. Despite winning a championship in Denver, Ware is not eligible for the team’s Ring of Fame because he only played with the team for three seasons (the ROF minimum is four years).

The last Bronco to be honored in the Ring of Fame was Hall of Fame quarterback Peyton Manning in 2021. When Klis mentioned the news about the Ring of Fame and announced the new committee, he also spoke of future Ring of Fame candidates. Among the candidates Klis offered were the late Demaryius Thomas, Steve Foley (the franchise leader in interceptions) and former head coach Gary Kubiak.

Denver first debuted the Ring of Fame in 1984, with safety Austin “Goose” Gonsoulin as the first honoree in franchise history. Earlier this week, the Broncos announced the passing of Ring of Fame kicker Jim Turner.

More Broncos Buzz!

Pat Surtain ranked No. 19 on CBS list of NFL’s Top 100 players

Broncos roster series: No. 78, OL Will Sherman

Broncos coach Sean Payton careful to not write off players too quickly

Broncos roster series: No. 79, OL Lloyd Cushenberry

Broncos position preview for 2023: Special teams

Follow the Broncos Wire Podcast:
Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Google Podcasts

Story originally appeared on Broncos Wire


Read More

You might like