January 20, 2022

The Only Football

Get The Latest NFL News And More!

LeRoy Butler named Pro Football Hall of Fame…

1 min read
LeRoy Butler named Pro Football Hall of Fame...

Synonymous with the Lambeau Leap, Butler was a versatile centerpiece of defensive coordinator Fritz Shurmur’s defense during the Packers’ Super Bowl XXXI championship run. Three other individuals with connections to that team – quarterback Brett Favre, defensive end Reggie White and general manager Ron Wolf – already have been enshrined in Canton.

The 15 modern-era finalists will be presented to the full 48-member Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee next month before Super Bowl LV, along with the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s coach, contributor and senior nominees: Dick Vermeil, Art McNally and Cliff Branch, respectively.

While there is no overall set number for any class of enshrinees, the bylaws for the selection committee provide that between four and eight new members will be selected, but a maximum of five can come from the 15 modern-era finalists.