May 25, 2022

The Only Football

Get The Latest NFL News And More!

LeRoy Butler receives long-awaited call to the Pro…

2 min read
LeRoy Butler receives long-awaited call to the Pro...

“He’s a damn good football player and I’m glad he’s on our side,” said Shurmur of Butler in the Wisconsin Capital Times on Oct. 26, 1998.

Known for inventing the “Lambeau Leap” after scoring a 25-yard fumble return touchdown against the Raiders on Dec. 26, 1993, Butler was voted to the NFL 1990s All-Decade Team with fellow safety Steve Atwater.

Butler remembers telling his late-mother Eunice, “That means I might be in the Hall of Fame one day.” Eunice, who passed away in 2016, encouraged her son but also offered a word of caution.

“That would be great,” Butler recalled his mother telling him in an interview with in Feb. 2020. “But that’s something you have to be really patient for because everybody thinks they’re a Hall of Famer.”

Eunice’s plea for patience proved prophetic, as Butler turned out to be the final offensive or defensive player from the 1990s All-Decade Team to be voted to Canton.

Pro Football Hall of Fame voters have steadily worked to reduce the logjam of safeties waiting for enshrinement into Canton, beginning with the induction of Seattle’s Kenny Easley in 2017 as a senior nominee.

Since then, Dawkins (2018), Ed Reed (2019), Butler’s fellow 1990s All-Decade member Atwater (2020) and 2000s All-Decade selectee Troy Polamalu (2020) have been enshrined. San Francisco 49ers general manager John Lynch, who never appeared on an All-Decade team, also was voted in last year.

Former Packers cornerback/safety Charles Woodson also was enshrined this past summer in his first year of eligibility.

Butler is the fourth member of Green Bay’s Super Bowl XXXI championship team to be voted into Canton, alongside Reggie White (2006), former general manager Ron Wolf (2015) and Brett Favre (2016).

“It is wonderful that the premier safety of the ’90s is getting his just reward by entering pro football’s sacred chamber, the Hall of Fame,” Wolf said. “It is well earned due to his passion for the game and his dedication to the Green Bay Packers along with his superb play.”

The Packers’ 28 Hall of Famers rank second among all NFL franchises, behind only the Chicago Bears.