Super Bowl 2024: Where Chiefs rank among NFL’s greatest dynasties of the past 60 years

With their win in Super Bowl LVIII, Patrick Mahomes and the Kansas City Chiefs have officially become NFL’s second dynasty since the turn of the century, five years removed from the New England Patriots’ final Super Bowl win.

If you weren’t sure before, there’s no denying the Chiefs’ place in history now. While several teams have won two Super Bowls, very few have managed to win three Super Bowls. The Chiefs have now joined the exclusive fraternity, a fraternity that includes some of the greatest teams of all time. 

You can see below where the Chiefs currently sit in history following their 25-22 win, but first, here was the criteria used when putting this list together. 

Championships won 
Sustained run of excellence 
Enduring legacy

No dynasty can match what the Patriots put together during the first two decades of the millennium. In all, Bill Belichick’s team won six Super Bowls, nine AFC titles, and 17 division titles. The Patriots also completed the only 16-0 regular season in NFL history in 2007. 

The Patriots won three Super Bowls in a four-year span from 2001-04. After a 10-year hiatus (that included two heartbreaking losses to Eli Manning’s Giants), New England won three Super Bowls in a five-year span from 2014-18. The common denominator during the Patriots’ reign was Belichick and quarterback Tom Brady, who took home MVP honors during four of his six Super Bowl wins in New England. Three of Brady’s former teammates, defensive lineman Richard Seymour, cornerback Ty Law and receiver Randy Moss, have been enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Former Patriots tight end Rob Gronkowski will be fitted for a gold jacket sometime in the very near future. 

Why they’re No. 1: The Patriots’ sustained success is remarkable considering it took place during the NFL’s salary cap era. New England also overcame a slew of worthy competitors that includes Peyton…


Read More

You might like